Wednesday, November 19, 2008

And I'd like to thank the Academy . . .


And my fellow blogger MISS JACK for this AWESOMESAUCE award.


As the great Sally Fields once said: "You Like me! You REALLY REALLY Like me!"


Thanks Miss Jack - you made my day, well, AWESOMESAUCE!!


I like them (most) ALL! But this is probably my favorite:

Ok - so this weeks Spin Cycle assignment is to go back and pick our "favorite" post. Well, since I'm still a blog virgin (hey, it's been a LONG time since I was a virgin ANYTHING - so let me enjoy this) I don't have many posts to choose from. Especially since I can't seem to get a post out there to save my life these days!

So, as I perused through my past posts (nice alliteration if I do say so myself) I came up with this one as my fave. And maybe, if I can remember, I'll even post "Part Deux!"

Enjoy!



I have this friend, my friend Dave . . .I met Dave about 10 years ago at a bar, of all places. (Imagine THAT for those who know me.) He was a DJ at the local radio station and on Thursdays or Fridays – who remembers, he also DJ’d at said bar. I was in college and went out every Thursday-Sunday night. (What? I graduated.) OK, 7 years later. But still. Shut up! I changed my major – A LOT.

Back then (and remember I drank 4 days out of 7) I thought he looked like Joey from Friends. I don't think so any more, but back then I did. Sue me. It was also more than 10 years ago and even Joey doesn't look like Joey any more. Plus, he (Dave, not Joey) needs to dye his hair. (Yes you do. I don’t care what your hairdresser says.)

Anyway, I thought he was way cute (you know I did and I just can’t wait to hear your comments David about this little bit of info) This had a lot to do with WHY I went to that bar every weekend. That, and the fact that the bouncer was a former boyfriend (friend with benefits, really, and he was HOT) so I figured my odds of hooking up, one way or another, were good. It seemed that Dave was always there with this girl, I'll call her Sue, who was another DJ from the station. I figured she was a girlfriend or worse, not YET his girlfriend and my competition.Long story short (mainly because I can’t remember the details) I ended up getting to know him and eventually got a job at the station on the office side. Of course I did, that bitch, I mean Sue, (no I don’t) wasn’t going to see him every day when I only got one night a week at a bar. (I’m not competitive so much as I’m jealous. Did I mention that my mom put me in pre-school 2 years in a row so I could learn how to share? Complete waste of money. Sorry mom.)

Fast forward to my FIRST day at the station. All is going well and I make sure that Dave knows I'm there by stopping by the studio to tell him so. He, of course, made fun of me in front of his intern (you did) so I go back to my desk and I'm all "what a jerk." Later that afternoon, the power goes out. I remember this particular detail because this is when I find out that he would NEVER, EVER be my boyfriend.

We were all gathered in the front lobby of the station because that’s where the only outside light was and Dave was there too since he couldn’t do his show. It was a Monday and everyone was talking about their weekends and someone noticed that he had a ring on his left hand ring finger. Being one of the only single guys at the station, all of us girls noticed this. Especially me since I took a freaking job at a radio station in order to make him mine (“I will hug him and squeeze him and call him George.” -Daffy Duck/Abominable Snowman reference for those of you that don't watch cartoons.) Anyway, Dave proceeds to tell all of us that he got MARRIED over the weekend. This is not only HUGE news (umm hello? I took a job at a radio station!!) but I found out that first day, half of the station thought he was gay and the other half really didn’t care (this was the older, uglier and married half.)I soon found out that Dave is notorious for lying and making up stories (just wait until you hear the DOOZIE we have going on right now- stay tuned), so the whole “I got married over the weekend was a complete lie. (At this point, there's still hope for boyfriend/girlfriend status BUT that means I can't quit this job just yet.) Over the next several weeks at the station, we became fast friends and I actually liked my job. C'mon, I was in college and I worked at a place where I got free CD's/concert tickets and occasionally met a famous singer. (OK Richard Marx was the only "famous" person and I TOTALLY thought he was my new intern that morning - maybe he'll make a comeback.)

A couple months into this gig, another DJ at the station, Lynn, was getting married and had invited me to the wedding and reception and you bet your ass I was there!! Too bad Sue had to work that night and couldn’t go to the reception. (Pre-school? I’m still there.) At the reception I sat (drank) with Amy, another DJ at the station and some other station people. Amy was super cool and gave me the scoop on everyone at the station. After the reception, we continued the party at another bar. There was dancing, drinking and still wondering whether or not Dave was single and hetero or homo sexual. Even Amy, who was married, was curious which was disappointing to me because I was hoping she’d have the inside scoop since she worked with him.The "after reception" activities proved fruitless (no pun intended) to answering the burning question, ‘was he or wasn’t he?’


  • After the wedding – we (I think the bride came too, but I can't be sure) head to a gay bar. (He’s gay.)

  • Dave introduces us to his "brother Mark" – who we thought was his boyfriend. (Not gay.)

  • Dave invites me and Amy back to his house. (Not gay)

  • "Brother" Mark is also invited and so is some guy named Michael (WTF?)

  • Mark drives me and Amy to Dave’s house and keeps looking at me funny when I refer to him as Dave's brother. (Dave likes to make up stories remember?)

  • I try to study for a statistics test that I forgot I have in the morning but fall asleep in Dave’s spare room. THIS, right here, is my life. I spend the night at his house – which should have been a victory – but fall asleep! (That test in the morning, also explains why I spent 7 years in college and am not a Dr.)


So, on Monday, I’m was just as confused as I was before the wedding but, Sue was so completely jealous that she missed out on all of it that it secretly makes me happy. (It's ok, hate the player, - but, I won.)Stay tuned for part deux (yes, I LOVE THE 80’S)

I had a post . . .really I did . . .

And now? I can't remember it. Seriously people - I think I'm coming down the CRS disease -(Can't remember shinola). I was backing out of my driveway this morning, trying very hard not to hit anything - like the garbage can, or worse - the house. (mental note: the next house I have will have an ATTACHED GARAGE and a BIGGER DRIVEWAY - not just one lane. - things I didn't pay attention to when I was buying this damn house) Anyway, I was backing out and I had the funniest thing to write about and I was like "oh, as soon as I get to work - I'll jot that down so I can post it." Do you think I can remember it now? NOPE!! I'm sooooooo mad!! This happens ALL THE TIME lately.

Seriously - I'll be upstairs in my room and realize that I need something downstairs - I go downstairs and by the time I get down there, I've forgotten what I came down for!! So there I am - usually staring at Daisy somehow hoping that she will one day just be able to talk and say "listen you dumbass, you came down here for _______ oh, and since we're down here, can I have a cookie?"

So, I guess since I can't remember my post - I'll get back to work - even though I don't want to, and even though I have a ton of resumes to get through, 2 meetings back to back and who knows what else - because you KNOW I've forgotten already!!

Have a great day everyone - and if I remember that FUNNY post I had in my tiny little brain this morning - I'll be sure to write it immediately!!

Friday, November 14, 2008

I'm here . . . really I am . . .

It's just that for ONCE in my life - I have nothing to say, er write, about. I know - for those of you that know me IRL - you're thinking - pffftt! Shopgirl has NOTHING to say? You were BORN talking. Actually, I wasn't - I had to take a special speech class when I was younger because I wouldn't talk and when I did, I couldn't quite sound out my s's and th's and f's.

Hmmm.. my favorite words now: Shit, Fuck and Motherfucker. Classy. I know you wish you were more like me. And Mom? Kudos on spending dad's money so wisely.

Anyway - I am here - and I'm reading all of your blogs - but as you guessed it, not commenting - because for some reason - I just can't get the words onto the blog post. Even Dave sent me a text yesterday asking me to post SOMETHING, ANYTHING. Well, here it is - it's not my finest post and actually - it's not really a post - just an explanation as to where I've been and what I've been up to.

So, since my last post a week ago I have and will:


1. Read all of your blogs - and DID post on some - for those that I didn't again - my apologies but I'm still reading!

2. Read the book Twilight - umm, if you would have asked me if I'd EVER read a book about Vampires (and a young adult book) I'd have answered in my best Cher voice from Clueless "as if!"

3. Slept, slept and slept - that was pretty much my weekend recap - major depression - I HATE this time of year.

4. Started my new meds to take care of #3 and this time, Dave, I promise to take them everyday. I even got one of those fancy smancy day of the week pill boxes.

5. Was a good daughter and painted my mom and dad's bathroom over the weekend.

6. Chased the great HOUDINI, Daisy Dog all over the neighborhood because I bought The Gentle Leader in hopes that it would stop her from pulling me all over the place when we go for our walks.

7. Return said Gentle Leader to PetSmart THIS weekend.

8. Will write a letter to GL asking for disclaimer to be put on box stating that their product DOES NOT WORK on this dog.

9. Begin reading New Moon - Can't. Believe. I'm reading. A book. About Vampires. But it's sooooo good and I'm sure I'll have to see the movie now too.

10. Heading to craft show with the girls to buy this bag, this bag or maybe this bag.

Shut up now, Dave! - this is TOTALLY with-in my budget! I have been saving my change (seriously I have) since this summer and have enough money in quarters and nickels to buy ONE bag. (And maybe an accessory or two.)

Hey - someone's got to keep the economy moving right?

So - I guess for not having much to say - I really did. I promise to get back on track and start posting more interesting stories soon. I'm sure I'll have some good girl gossip after this weekend!

Have a great weekend my fellow bloggers!

Friday, November 7, 2008

Do you remember . . .

When MTV was just that, MUSIC Televison? Don't get me wrong - I love, love love the Real World - was sooooooooooo in love with Eric from the first Real World - when they were ACTUALLY REAL.

My buddy DeeMarie has me working on this HORRIBLE HORRIBLE project (I kid, only) at work so while I'm data entering (such a good use of my mad recruiting skillz I tell you) I'm listening to my iPod (which I pronounce "ip-id", why? because.) Anyway, the MTV theme song from the 90's came on (I don't know why - but I have it) and it just made me think about how cool MTV used to be. Before the Hills, Real World, Road Rules and even VH1 - which is really my generations MTV.

Of course, this lead me to search the World Wid Web in hopes to actually find a sound bite of the theme song (since I can't figure out how to copy it from my iTunes and paste it into my blog) Of course, doing that - pasting it into my blog is probably illegal and infringes on some copyright - but really? Who would complain about the Club MTV Theme Song being copied onto my blog for all 5 of you (FABULOUS 5 at that) to listen? If you know how I can get it on here - well, email me and I'll take the risk!

Anyway - listening to it took me back, WAAAAAAAAAAAAY back. Like to the days of my MC Hammer pants and my Bobby Brown (pre-Whitney) black patent shoes. I was so cool it just makes me want to CRY thinking about how "cool" I was. Don't believe me? I had my SENIOR picture taken in those MC HAMMER pants - yep, mom was soooooooo proud of me. And the background? Hot Pink and Electric Blue neon lights - stop your jealousy right now, you can never, ever be as cool as me. I am sorry.

Can I also tell you that I pegged the legs of my jeans so tight it's a wonder my ankles are still attached? Yes, I was so hip with the fashion trends. Ok, so I know you all pegged your jeans
while wearing your Banana Clip in your spiral permed hair that you "froze" in place with your Paul Mitchel Freeze n Shine spray.

C'mon - take a trip down memory lane with me - send pictures if you have 'em!

Monday, November 3, 2008

MOUSER UPDATE

Good Monday morning my fellow bloggers! Never in my life would I have thought I'd utter these words, but I'm actually glad (well, kinda) it's Monday. This past weekend was, eh, not the greatest (not the worst either) but I'm so glad it's over non-the-less. And to top it off (of course, it's a Monday) I have another MIGRAINE headache. I would have stayed home today but believe it or not, laying down makes it worse - so here I am . . .


A few of you have asked me about my mouse situation - and I'm happy to announce (knock on wood) that I think I have gotten rid of the mousers. I've still got traps set because last night, I had the most WICKED dream nightmare about mice in the house. In my dream my house was INFESTED with mice!! YOWZERS!!! It was horrible! I had all these traps set and as soon as I put them down on the floor - a mouse would get caught but NOT DIE!! No wonder I woke up this morning with another MOTHER OF A MIGRAINE!!


So, say a prayer for me, and let's hope that this nightmare was just that, a bad dream and that the mousers are gone for good at shopgirl's house!!


I'll be back to my regular posting self later this week once I kick this migraine to the curb. Have a great Monday . . .

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

So far . . .

No more Mousers!! Yeah!! Although, last night I was rummaging in my basement for a "craft/project" to work on (I finally scrapbooked Dave) and discovered all kinds of mouse evidence. Let's HOPE that it's all old evidence.

A better post will follow later - Just wanted to update on the Mickey situation!!